Language Sensei

A Language Teacher's Journey

The Benefits of a Quick Sound Bite

| 0 comments

Today, as my students were preparing for an oral interview, I was reminded again how useful a short audio file can be. Disclaimer – I’m a Mac owner so I use Quicktime but  Audacity for PCs provides a similar ‘bang for the buck.

Easy to create – There is really no special equipment needed.  For me, I record off my computer’s built in microphone.  An external one is cheap to find. And the best news is that once you have made the file – it’s there for future use.

No editing required – Keep in mind that you are recording something that is a list, or a short paragraph, or brief thoughts etc. If you don’t like how it sounds you won’t be editing – just rerecording!

All learners benefit – Out students are learning in many ways. Audio files allow them to ‘hear it again’ outside of class time. I am amazed at how many of my native English speakers want to hear as they read. My special needs and ESL students benefit from the ability to listen again and again.

Multitude of uses – There are the obvious ones for me, a  language teacher, such as Oral Exam prep, Vocabulary tests, Listening Comprehension practice.  However as I continue to make them I am finding more and more uses. A recent one was a “don’t forget”  for an on-going project.

Quick to make, easy to post to a site and available any time… my audio files are a key tool in supporting student learning.

Colleen

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.


Skip to toolbar